Marriage (Nikah) Services

In Islam there are 4 conditions which must be met for a marriage to be considered valid.

  1. Consent– There must be mutual consent between bride and groom and both must explicitly express their interest to marry each other.
  2. Wali– A wali is a male guardian of the bride who looks out for the best interests of her and protects her. The permission of the father, brother, male relative, or other  individual designated as a wali must be obtained.
  3. Witnesses– Two adult witnesses must be present.
  4. Mahr– This word is often translated as “dowry” but is better expressed as a “bridal gift.” The bride has the right to receive a gift from the groom which remains her own property as security in the marriage. The gift is payable directly to the bride and remains her sole property, even in case of later divorce. The mahr can be cash, jewelry, property, or any other valuable asset.


In Islam, a marriage is considered valid once these four conditions are met.  A valid marriage license must first be obtained by the state of Wisconsin before the masjid will perform a nikkah ceremony.  Marriage licenses from other states may be accepted but will require additional verification.

Nikkah ceremonies are simple and can be completed in only 5 – 10 minutes but may last longer if desired.

For questions about having your Nikkah ceremony performed or any other questions involving marriage in Islam, please complete the form below and Imam Alhagie will respond when available.

Make Appointment with Imam Jallow

  1. Name *
    * Please enter your name
  2. Email *
    * Please enter a valid email address
  3. Message *
    * Please enter message